Citizens from the Schengen area and the EU may enter Bulgaria freely from today

Citizens from the Schengen area and the EU may enter Bulgaria freely from today

The travel restrictions for citizens of EU member states, as well as for non-EU countries, part of the Schengen area, which were imposed due to the coronavirus crisis, are no longer active as of May 22.

In most cases a mandatory 14-day self-quarantine will be imposed.

The restrictions remain for countries outside the EU and Schengen area.

The travel restrictions did not apply to Bulgarian citizens, their immediate families or permanent Bulgarian residents. However, other EU citizens and citizens of the other members Schengen were temporarily banned from entering Bulgaria as part of the government’s measures to slow the spread of the coronavirus.

The restrictions do not apply depending on the reason for travel: for example, medical professionals may enter the country regardless of citizenship, as well as certain type of workers, freight drivers, pharmaceutical and medical equipment suppliers, state and other official, international travel drivers, pilots, etc.

The exceptions, as stated for reason of travel, also carry over for mandatory self-quarantine: Bulgarian citizens, their families, permanent residents, the above-mentioned groups, as well as people, entering the country because of the above-mentioned reasons, will also not have to self-quarantine for 14 days.

Meanwhile, Bulgaria registers a fourth day in a row, in which the recovered COVID-19 patients are more than the newly confirmed.

2372 are the total number of confirmed coronavirus infections. 258 people with the virus are in hospital care, 29 are in ICUs. 125 people with the infection have died.


Още по темата

Още от Weekly

Къде му е мястото на Бойко Борисов?